ferro-cement

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by tdw, Feb 26, 2005.

1. tdw

tdw New Member

Was wondering if anyone knows about using ferro-cement over insulfoam (expananded polystyrene) as a frame?

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Do you mean as a mold?

3. D'ARTOIS

D'ARTOIS Senior Member

I have some experience with ferrocement boats: I sailed one from Holland to France - all sorts of accidents during the voyage and some in relation to the building material.
    The way you pose your question gives me the idea that you are not completely aware of the building-process. Ferrocement is no resin that stiffens the woven and that can be formed over or in a mould - male or female moulding.
    That doesn't apply to Ferrocement, a process that works differently.

Ferrocement was during a short period popular in the "hippy-scene" in the early '70's till mid '80 a material used sometimes in a professional environment but mostly by amateurs.

Ferrocement does have two main problems, no actually 3, now I recall.

You start with the buiding of a frame of steelbar that functions as the basic reinforcent - it replaces the tranversal/longitudinal reinforcement in common structures.
    On this framework you attach a number of layers of chickenmesh we call it "dubbeltjesgaas" Wynand will know what I mean - the more layers - the stronger your reinforcement/the boat;
    Than the cementing starts up and that is a one-go process: you start it and finish it in one sequence - there are, as natural, the necessary exclusions, but in general this is the way it goes.
    You start inside or outside by pressing the cement in the wiremesh, making sure that no gaps,voids or whatever are formed during the cementing process.
    Afterwards you fair the hull.
    Result: a rotproof, corrosionproof and in general strong hull.

The negative points are not many but the ones existent are serious:

1) hull becomes more often than normal too heavy;
    2) low resistance against high impact loads;