Another Try at an Electric Catamaran

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Motivator-1, May 29, 2010.

1. Motivator-1

Motivator-1 Junior Member

Hello Boat Design Members,
    I would like to introduce myself as this is my first attempt to post here, though I have read many. After you read this, if you can suggest a better thread to post to, please instruct me to do so.
    I have been designing and building Pedal power, Electric power, and small Power boats for the last 25 years. I am a "Hands-on" type of Engineer with experience in a number of fields. I am also a Master Machinist, a Heliarc Welder, and my ventures have taught me to understand electrical and mechanical design and Fiberglass techniques of Plug & Mold design and construction. These capabilities have allowed me to design and fabricate every aspect of my past projects that include a Tandem, Pedal Powered Catamaran, a Solo Semi-recumbent Pedal Powered Catamaran, an Electric Powered Catamaran fishing boat, and lastly a Hybrid Gas/Electric design that I labeled the Stealth Cat that unfortunately did not get further than first sea trials with an outboard motor.
    What I am looking to do next is revisit my Electric catamaran to try to push the limits of speed and performance using today's better technologies. Mostly, I'm hoping to get help with the Cat Hull design to see if some rules can be broken. The crafts mentioned earlier all worked well beyond my expectations, and I believe I pushed the envelope a bit even then. I would be glad to share with you the things I have learned. The design criteria that I usually follow does not always incorporate all of the top suggested things, but a compromise that allows the Boat to be a Boat. By this I mean that you should be able to move about on the craft, Fish comfortably from it, and be able to navigate the Shallow waters here in South Florida or anywhere else.