New to Design, will this work?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by ChrisB, Sep 29, 2006.

1. ChrisB

ChrisB Junior Member

Ok, I am brand new to this (so take it easy). I have spent 3 (sarcasim on) whole days (sarcasim off) reading about boats. I do this partly because I want a boat, and partly because the thought of building my own brings me some level of satisfaction. I plan to research this topic for a while before I acctually do anything.....

I should probably tell you what my prersonal requirements are. That may help you to judge what I 'need'.

I'm no idiot, but I don't have a lot of practical boating expirence. I did manage to sail a 15' (dingy style?) sailboat around a harbor in fairly high winds w/o any instruction or help. It was that day I learnd about letting the ropes get tangled, but other than that incedent, it went well.....

I'm a 1/2 decent with wood and have built my own furniture.

I want a boat mostly for fishing, that will hold 3 adults.

Some of the places I go are electric motor only. If I were to use an outboard I would expect to accomidate no more than 10-15hp.

The places I go can be pretty shallow (1' or less in some places).

I will use standard boat ramps and will have a boat trailer.

Some of the places I go will be slow flowing rivers (Potomac near the dams). I dont expect to see waves except those from other boats.

I expect to pay less than $300 to make the boat (not including motor). Though I hear resin can be pretty expensive (though I realize that $400 is a real possiblity)

Ok now on to my design......

My design is made of entirely straight edges. This is done to keep complexity to an absolute minimum. Is this practical?

The bow on my design is the same hight as the rest of the boat. Most designs I see have the bow higher relitive to the rest of the boat when out of the water.

Eventially a 4-6hp electric motor will be used.

I expect to use 1/2 ply on the bottom, with almost everything else being 1/4"