Building my first boat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Guest, Jun 19, 2003.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Hi all,I have just come across this site by accident. I don,t know if the majority of members are pro,s or amateurs, but you provide some interesting topics and helpful answers. I have always longed to build my own yacht, about 26ft. A maintenance fitter by trade and very handy with all aspects of tools. A massive garden with a 26ft garage. I have looked at various ad,s for plans, but do they all cost between £200/£400. Obviously a lot of work goes into designing a boat, i am not disputing that. Are there any cheaper designs on the market. Thankyou (I think it would be a good idea to register, as I see myself using this site a lot)

2. Bill the Cat

Bill the Cat Junior Member

Once you start on the project - the $300 to $600 will seem like the least of your expenses if you're looking to a contemporary design and modern building methods.

But....if you're willing to step back a few decades - look to the older plans of an Atkin or Herreshoff - might find just what you want in the library. Now you'll get plans/dimensions etc. but no "how to". So off the library again or down to the boatyard or off to the web.

Might look at www.devlinboat.com or www.cmdboats.com for modern plans a bit low than your starting price. I don't know exactly what you're looking for in a yacht.

Good Luck
    Dave

3. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

The price may be high or low, depending on what you get. Some plans have only lines with no construction details. For a beginner, a plan with a lot of details is the best. If not, you'll find yourself spending a lot of time and money trying to get the missing information from books and other sources.

4. Guest

Guest Guest

Bill the Cat & Gonzo

Thanks for the advice lads, much appreciated.