Analysing Masts

Discussion in 'Hydrodynamics and Aerodynamics' started by ESP91, Apr 12, 2011.

1. ESP91

ESP91 New Member

Hello,
    I am studying at the Solent university in Southampton (yacht & powercraft design), and I just registered in this forum recently.
    I am interested in the performance of the wing masts profiles (not wing sails!), and I would like to know a bit more about there advantages and drawbacks, and especially I am interested in the tests carried out in industry in order to evaluate there effectiveness (wind tunnel, CFD ??...).
    Could somebody provide me with a suitable manufacture web sites of wing masts, where I could find wing mast sections, all the other manufacturers such as Selden only provide with standard mast sections.
    thanks!!

2. Eric Sponberg

Eric Sponberg Senior Member

ESP91,

You will likely find very little in the way of standard wingmast sections. The vast majority of wingmasts, such as they are, an extremely small field that it is, are all custom designed and built. Designs are as varied as the individual designers and builders. For reading, get C.A. Marchaj's "Aero-Hydrodynamics of Sailing" to understand the principles of airflow around a sailing rig. To talk to someone first-hand, contact Andy Claughton at Wolfson Institute there in Southampton--he probably knows as much as anyone about the state of the art in research and testing. Very little of any testing or studies in the way of model testing and CFD has made it into the public domain--it is rarely published.

That which is published goes back over 30 years. Here are some technical papers that have been helpful to me, in chronological order:

"Aerodynamics of High-Performance Wing Sails" by J. Otto Scherer, Marine Technology, July 1974. (Marine Technology is the quarterly journal published by The Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers (SNAME) here in the US. You may be able to buy copies of these papers from SNAME).