creosote problem

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by dimdim, Jul 19, 2011.

1. dimdim

dimdim New Member

Hello all, I'm a relative newbie to this boat life

my question is as follows (forgive the ignorance)

I have an old timber boat (1956 Tasmanian built) which has the hull soaked in Creosote - the boat will be used in reef areas in PNG - inevitable to "kiss" a few.

the hull needs to be strengthened - I plan to thicken it from the inside

what could I use to glue the strengthening timbers to the creosote soaked hull?

I plan to lay them on top, parallel - and then add extra ribs on top.

the boat is driven by a 6354 perkins

thanks to all

2. rasorinc

rasorinc Senior Member

In my first search for an adhesive to stick to creosote coated wood I did not come up
    with any good results. You may find an adhesive but you might have to back it up with mechanical fasteners ( nuts and bolts )

3. Frosty

Frosty Previous Member

Why not just plank over the outside with bolts and a traditional oil based caulking compound. Maybe sister a few ribs in as well if you want.

4. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

I wouldn't go crazy here, as it's a common misconception of boating novices, to think they need to "beef" things up. Most hulls can be protected with chafe strips on the keel, along the turn of the bilge, etc. without resorting to doubling the wight of the planking with another layer. Call a qualified boat carpenter and have him look her over. If he's got any real experience, he can tell you the right way without the expense, effort and burden of an additional, sacrificial layer of planking.

5. dimdim

dimdim New Member

Thank you for the replies so far.