Ama designs that create lift

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by rapscallion, Nov 18, 2007.

1. rapscallion

rapscallion Senior Member

"planing" amas are being talked about more and more. I think I posted a patent link to them once already; but I was hoping to hear from some people out there about them.

I know doug likes his foils, but I kinda wanted to focus on the hull shape itself creating lift, like the patent discusses.

http://www.freepatentsonline.com/4224889.html
    http://www.freepatentsonline.com/4907518.html

I'm still learning freeship; after I get the ama rendered I'm going to take it into open foam and try to figure it out.

I was wondering if anyone else was playing with this

2. Doug Lord

Doug Lord Guest

Planing Amas

Actually, my Ultimate 18 concept uses stepped planing ama's for high top end speed with foils just used for pitch control(similar to Parlier's cat).
    See Jim Antrim's 40(I think) where he discusses his use of planing ama's.EDIT: It's his 30+:
    Antrim 30+
    Address:http://www.antrimdesign.com/trimarans/erin/ Changed:12:17 PM on Friday, September 30, 2005
    -------
    See the Ultimate 18 thread in this forum and the rough model pictures here: www.monofoiler.com

3. Fanie

Fanie Fanie

Yes, what's with all the millions and millions of claimed patients clogging up the net all of a sudden. Some of the stuff already exist and has been in use for a long time yet along comes an idiot and claims a patient for it. What ? He thinks he's going to get rich all of a sudden from it ?

4. Chris Ostlind

Chris Ostlind Previous Member

I can't believe we are going to do this dog and pony dance again regarding planing amas... especially as they apply to claims, as perceived by others, to have been made by Jim Antrim in his SNAME article regarding trimaran design.

For any of you who wish to read about the previous discussion and the ground it covered in the past, here's the link to that thread: