SubCar 2004

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by SubCarBuilder, Sep 1, 2004.

1. SubCarBuilder

SubCarBuilder Junior Member

Hi, I am a novice at boat building. Some friends and I have started building a SubBoat, but are encountering troubles with getting the car to sink. Would anyone know how much water would be needed in Litres or Gallons, to sink a 1400lbs car. I know that the air volume will need to be calculated, but my math isn't so strong. The Box inside the car is 3' 6" by 6', sealed. Exterior tanks are being mounted to the side of the vehicle to take on the water.

Sorry if this is confusing

Mike Harrison
    Project ShallowDive 2004
    mikeonatrike@hotmail.com

2. duluthboats

duluthboats Senior Dreamer

Forgive me if I’m wrong I know nothing about subs I always thought the idea was to have enough tank space to keep the sub from sinking. Then when you want to go down you flood the tanks. So if the sub doesn’t sink without the tanks start adding lead until it sinks. I’m thinking if the math for displacement is hard on you, doing the math for hull strength is going to give you a headache.

Gary

3. foxxaero

foxxaero Junior Member

Hi Mike, interesting concept you are working on. It wouldn't happen
    to be a Lotus car would it? I don't know much about subs but it
    seems to me that if the car won't sink, you just open a valve which
    allows water to enter the sealed compartment and down you go ... course
    this wouldn't be ideal if you were sitting in the sealed compartment :) .

Here's a page with links to a number of sub sites. If you follow
    the links you will find websites related to submarines (some of which
    are very informative about sub operations). Just a suggestion, but I
    think I would do some serious research before taking that baby out for sea
    trials. Do you have any pictures of your subcar that you could post?

http://foxxaero.homestead.com/indsub.html

Cheers

Russ

Attached Files:

4. Red Pike