Need support on building a transom on an aluminum sea king

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by Fishermanadict, Mar 5, 2015.

1. Fishermanadict

Fishermanadict Born to fish!

Hello Yall.
    I'm sorry I am very new to this site and also new to be having a outboard motor for my boat, I have always used a trolling motor. My 12' sea king that is light and can be carried by two people and also can be carried to the top of a vehicle to add a motor. I did see holes before I patched them on with screws and washers and a nut with 3m 5200 silicone to cover any leaks and now I just realized I need to make a transom since I bought a 15 hp outboard evinrude motor. I know you will say it's to much power but I am a careful driver to not even exceed full throttle for then the boat can be handle. I just want to make sure the materials and enough support to add the outboard on the back end of the boat. Please help me and God bless

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Welcome to the forum.

Your boat should have a "capacity" plate or label on it. Don't exceed it's max HP recommendations for obvious reasons, but the less obvious one is the weight. A 15 HP 4 stroke, can be asking too much of the hull volume on some 12' boats, so check the label. If you don't have one, measure the transom from top corner to the opposite corner and post it here. A typical 15 HP outboard will need 1" of plywood (minimum) in the transom and this is best achieved with two layers of 1/2", glued together, especially if using construction grade, instead of marine plywood.

3. Fishermanadict

Photo of inside of the boat

I don't know the year but here is the inter design original. Before it was painted black. I don't even have the year when purchase from Craigslist but is register.

Attached Files:

4. Fishermanadict

Thanks Par,