Putting a Wood frame in Aluminum hull

Discussion in 'Materials' started by jlmclean, Nov 8, 2016.

1. jlmclean

jlmclean New Member

I have a 15' Aluminum hull (Bass Boat Design) that I picked up at a scrap yard. It has no frame work at all, just the bare hull. I am a pretty decent woodworker and have actually built a plywood skiff. I am thinking about putting a wood frame in the aluminum hull. I really don't want to do any type of through hull fasteners since they would be going into the wood. My idea is to glue the framework to the aluminum. If anyone has actually glued wood to aluminum and had good results, I'd like to have some suggestions on the best adhesive to use. I want to do it right the first time instead of realizing I should have used something else later on down the road.
    Thanks in advance for any help.

2. mydauphin

mydauphin Senior Member

First don't use pressure treated wood , it will rot your aluminum. 5200 caulking will work well on aluminum and wood. I would also do a couple of stainless steel nuts and bolts somewhere. It may not be the best thing but it will get you out fishing.

3. upchurchmr

upchurchmr Senior Member

Don't do it.
    When the aluminum heats up it will expand a great deal more than the wood, putting the glue under a great deal of shear.

I put an aluminum V track in a piece of fir once before. Out in the Texas sun it broke the bond as soon as I put load on the track.

Very bad idea.

Fasteners would be a much better idea.
    Or do it right and use aluminum for the frame.
    Aluminum cuts pretty much like wood, except for the noise, and the chips which are like extremely sharp knives, and the fact that you have to scrape aluminum slag off the blade every few minutes.
    That is because of the woodworking blade speeds and construction of the wood blades.

4. Barry

Barry Senior Member