Modifying a Tracker V12 – Fastener Selection

Discussion in 'Metal Boat Building' started by blindlove, Aug 29, 2008.

1. blindlove

blindlove Junior Member

Hi there I’m very new to this boating thing and this forum.

I recently purchased a Tracker 12 and I want to add a sole, remote throttle and rotary steering. The sole and console will be fabricated from marine ply that’s sealed with epoxy.

The sole will be a snug fit and will be kept in place with two cross members fastened to the bench seats. (see image)

http://img147.imageshack.us/my.php?image=constructionsketchtr9.jpg

My real concern is the type of screw that should be used. The aluminum is quite thin and I understand that if the wrong fasteners are used the galvanic effect can corrode the boat.

Any input would be greatly appreciated

PS: any comments on the planned mod are also welcome

2. blindlove

blindlove Junior Member

3. blindlove

blindlove Junior Member

4. kmorin

kmorin Senior Member

adding to a thin aluminum skiff

blindlove,

First, I'm more experienced in welded aluminum not thinner riveted boats so I may not be very helpful, but as no one else seems inclined to reply- I'll give it a shot.

I'd rivet the points on the two transverse deck/cockpit sole supports and make the supports out of aluminum angle (6061 T-6) because this would be an all metal solution.

If the two cross hull supports are 2x4's or wood (?) then screws might be OK if they're installed from inside the bench seat- otherwise I'd rivet the transverse supports regardless of what they're made from.