alpha one outdrive - hit log

Discussion in 'Sterndrives' started by rollyh, Sep 6, 2010.

1. rollyh

rollyh newbe to site

I have a question I have a 92 chaparral with mercruser alpha one out drive. Yesterday I hit a log ,tip of prop shows ding but it wont go when I put in gear. I pulled the boat out I put shifter in gear and I can turn prop by hand both ways maybe a little drag in the direction I have in gear not much tho. My question is there a shear pin on the prop or did it strip a gear ? I am a good mechanic so I would like to do my self if I can any help would be appreciated

2. baeckmo

baeckmo Hydrodynamics

First check if reverse is functioning; if yes, the outer shell of the lower shift cable may be broken. Its steel wires corrode close to the drive. Since it (mostly) is "push-for-forward", the shell moves away from the drive and no action is achieved.

3. J3

J3 Junior Member

For completeness, no there is no shear pin on the prop. The mercruiser alpha props had a rubber hub. A "spun hub" usually allows idle speed but the more power you apply the more it slips.

4. CDK

CDK retired engineer

If Baeckmo is right you are one lucky *******.
    You may be even luckier if the shift cable is OK but the shift finger is not in the fork under it but jumped out.

Less lucky people have the lower housing cracked after a log hit. And I know one case where even the gimbal housing was wrecked, but that was a submerged rock, not a log.

5. rollyh

rollyh newbe to site

I could not find any outside damage to the unit. When it was in the water and I would put it in gear it would do nothing forward or reverse but I would not also here it grind when I put in gear also. I took out of water if I put in gear I can turn prop easy on way hear slight clicking little drag the other way . Did I strip a gear in lower end . is it something I can do my self Iam mechanically inclined .

6. CDK

CDK retired engineer