Airex/Divinycell question

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by charlyIII, Oct 18, 2012.

1. charlyIII

charlyIII Junior Member

Hey guys,

My composite chainplate drawing specs Aiex R90.300 for the core

I have a source for Divinycell, and the seller calls it 14-60.

I have no experience with either product. Are they compatable density? Am I asking the right question?

THanks

2. Charly

Charly Senior Member

Heck. Maybe I should start over.

Ok nevermind the divinycell. The plans call for Airex R-90.300, and R90.200. what do these numbers mean? Are these products still available? (I thought Airex was discontinued) What would be a comparable product?

3. DGreenwood

DGreenwood Senior Member

As I recall the R90 is a crosslinked foam with better test scores than the earlier non cross linked foams. The 300 and 200 refer to the density which would be approx. 300 kilos per cubic meter. I think they are still available but I am a little out of touch these days. Any good composites supplier can help you find a comparable if not available.

4. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member

http://www.atlcomposites.com.au/atl_composites2/products/cores/airex__foam

You want information go directly to the source !! airex is alive and well :confused:
    My views on foams is if in doubt use a denser foam never a softer one! never !!!

5. DGreenwood

DGreenwood Senior Member

My advice is to use what the designer tells you to use.

6. Boatlands

Boatlands New Member

hi Charly, As DGreenwood pointed out 300 refers to density of the foam with kg/m3 unit. It is a high density foam. DIAB has a foam called HCP70 with density of 300kg/m3. please have a look at the attached files. let me know if you have any other questions.
    Any views or opinions presented in this message are solely those of the author and may not necessarily reflect the opinion of DIAB or its affiliates.

Attached Files:

7. Charly

Charly Senior Member