Thermo shrinking ropes for lashing?

Discussion in 'Materials' started by Petros Polonos, Aug 15, 2018.

1. Petros Polonos

Petros Polonos New Member

I am new to the trade and my aim is to develop lashing skills and eventually build skin-on-frame Aleut kayak. I started from small things (bamboo bike trailer) and I am looking now for better materials.
    Can anybody point me towards lashing ropes with thermo-shrinking effect? The idea is to use hot air gun to finish (tighten) joints when done.

If there are natural fibers with this feature, it would be a great bonus.

2. JamesG123

JamesG123 Senior Member

Raw hide and sinews are I guess what you are thinking of. They shrink when drying, but heat accelerates that. Its the traditional material for kayaks.

I can't think of any structural polymers that have this effect. At least none that aren't exotic and super expensive. Plastics and line manufactures go to great pains to AVOID thermal variability in their materials. The chemistry is tricky. Most of the time the process that causes "shrink" , driving off solvents or shortening polymer chains, compromises the strength of the material. That is why thermo-shrink is usually used as insulators and encasements.

3. Petros Polonos

Petros Polonos New Member

Skin on frame builders (Guillame Kayaks and Wolfgang Brinck) mention in their walkthroughs that the skin fabric shrinks under the heat (Nylon?) and contact with water (Polyester?). But they say nothing about lashings. I did some tests and on the cheapest no-name rope achieved ~10% reversible ans some 3-5% irreversible shrink.
    I think I will stay at that plus anti-slip separators (pieces of old bicycle rubber tube) and doing lashings really tight (clamps and mallet).

4. SamSam

SamSam Senior Member

If you use something stretchy it will become very tight. An analogy would be wrapping a rubber band around your finger while stretching it. Nylon builders string is strong and stretchy and can be dyed different colors.