airboat propulsion and drive

Discussion in 'Propulsion' started by jxing62, May 24, 2007.

1. jxing62

jxing62 Junior Member

i was thinking of building my own airboat , for the airboat hull i think it is not a problem but i dont have any information about the propulsion and the drive, i mean the transmision, the mechanical part from the engine to propeller. can anyone kindly give me some advice. thanks.

2. StianM

StianM Senior Member

http://www.dair.co.uk

Reduction and damper is from what I understand build into the engine.
    I have no experience with airboats and have no idea what kind off power you nead, but a 100hp should be enough.

3. Frosty

Frosty Previous Member

Well I dont think they have a transmission. I think a VW engine is popular or can be used and the prop is connected straight to the crank --start and go-.

I am pretty sure I have seen converstion kits to do this on the internet somewhere.

Where in malaysia are you?

4. StianM

StianM Senior Member

No reduction gear? You then would nead to keep the prop diameter quite low not to brake the sound barier. If you runn a engine at 5000rpm the propeler diameter could not become larger than 1,2-1,3m befour the tip are traveling at Mach1.

Is there not also easier to get grip in the air with a larger diameter proppeler?

5. jxing62

jxing62 Junior Member

i also believe it should have some sort of gearbox/transmission, one that is a must is forward and neutral gear. otherwise you are not possible to park the airboat.
    stainM mention abot the mach1, can you describe more detail about the mach1, not really understand it.and what is the normal diameter of the prop in airboat, and is it true peoples are using the airplane prop in airboat?

6. jxing62

jxing62 Junior Member