Seagoer Plans

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by frank smith, Sep 24, 2013.

1. frank smith

frank smith Senior Member

2. frank smith

3. frank smith

4. frank smith

5. frank smith

6. frank smith

These plans are available in a pdf file. I dont remember where I got them , but I do have the pdf files for separate pages, just dont know how to put all the pages in one file.
    Enjoy
    F

7. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

What's your point in this post Frank? This design is an admitted knock off and common among the era. It's not fast, not very good to windward, not especially maneuverable, tends to sail at heel angles well past what most modern sailors are comfortable with and her roll moment, though fairly slow is a bit more then what most would find comfortable. Even the original, which this is based, was described by her designer as a pig.

8. troy2000

troy2000 Senior Member

Don't hold back, Paul. Tell us how you really feel.... :D

As a complete amateur I'm really in no position to argue with you about the merits of a design; you have more experience and knowledge than I ever will. But the simple fact that copies and variations of Seabird have been built continuously for well over a hundred years, coupled to the fact that so many of their owners love them dearly and keep them for twenty or thirty years, would seem to indicate they have some redeeming qualities...

All of them are a bit clunky looking, to my eye. But apparently they get people from here to there in a reasonable amount of time and in reasonable comfort, they're reasonably easy to handle, and they're reasonably affordable to build - especially the plywood versions.

And being someone who's easily amused, I enjoyed just studying the plans - even though I'll probably never build one. :)

9. PAR

Yeah and George Buehler's designs have some "redeeming" qualities too. When even the commissioner suggests he'd have gone a different route, in hindsight, you do have to question the premise.