Shipwright needed in Bay Area

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by salk, Aug 10, 2008.

1. salk

salk New Member

Does anyone know a good shipwright in the San Francisco Bay Area? I am working on restoring a 46 foot sportfisher yacht built in 1926. We have a few projects to finish.

2. davidlong

davidlong New Member

shipwright needed

Hi,

I'm not a shipwright but I'm interested in learning boatbuilding. Are you working on this restoration yourself?

david long

3. David55cobra

David55cobra Junior Member

I know a fellow quite well who works only on wood boats and is absolutely amazing. He has been doing this for many years now, takes his time and does the job right, and doesnt try to get rich on every job. On top of all that, he is one of the nicest guys I know, and well worth a phone call. I've been working on wood boats for over 40 years now, and when I come across something weird, I call him. I dont know if it is appropriate to place his phone number here, but if you email me, I can forward it to you gladly !

4. david long

david long New Member

shipwright

I would definitely like to know this person. I will be buying a boat in the near future and my budget will only allow me to purchase a fixer. I intend to do a lot of the work myself. If it's not to much trouble, please send me his number.

David long
    davidlong.norcal@gmail.com
    415-425-7832

5. thudpucker

thudpucker Senior Member

I'd like to let you guys in on something.
    Your on your way to excitment with these older wooden plank boats.

There is a couple terms you should be aware of.

Nail Sick: that means a fastener going through a couple pieces of wood has rotted in the middle.
    The head looks good, but if you try to pull the Nail/Screw out, it just turns.
    That means the fastener has rotted and is doing nothing.

Next is "Blowing a Plank"