Powerboat Suspension System

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by LehighTE, Jan 14, 2014.

1. LehighTE

LehighTE New Member

Hi all,

I am a graduate student at Lehigh University and am currently in the Master's of Engineering program in Technical Entrepreneurship. I have registered an account on this forum to ask for your help with one of my latest projects.

My group is working with Professor Joachim Grenestedt to see how we can help him commercialize his patented boat suspension technology and would highly appreciate your help in filling out a brief survey.

See Patent:

https://www.google.com/patents/US82...a=X&ei=5lzVUuWPJ_SksQT1jYGwBg&ved=0CDkQ6AEwAA

See Survey:

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1vWnLcQTWm3kHug2bKv42LQ-83TJJJ7BfnsePeoRNPkU/viewform

Please feel free to add your thoughts. Thank you!

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

It's a really complicated, an heavy, system. You should check what designers like the Gougeon brothers did. They used a flexible beam which does all the same work without all the mechanical nightmare.

3. kerosene

kerosene Senior Member

And the questionnaire is not very well done. The question about addressing the injuries should be about addressing the cause for the injuries. Now you are asking if its important to see a doc after a spinal injury....

And how about the suspended boat, do you really mean that the price categories are for the whole boat? $15,000 is rather cheap...

Besides those the actual question choices are not the smartest imo.
    Bad questionnaires are a waste of everybody's time

4. kerosene

kerosene Senior Member

I also question how defendable that patent is. Adapting double wishbone suspension from cars just by replacing wheel with sponson is not novel enough imo.

5. meren

meren Junior Member