Advice needed on bulkhead retabbing to hull

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by isaksp00, Jul 3, 2012.

1. isaksp00

isaksp00 New Member

I'm a total newbie here, and found conflicting or confusing comments in other threads here, so looking for very basic advice.

I have a 23 ft Hunter sailboat and stbd bulkhead has disintegrated from dryrot. It was ply, probably marine ply but not sure, 3/4 in thick by 2 ft tall and extended out 9 in at top, tapering down to nothing at bottom. I posted pics on the Hunter forum: http://forums.hunter.sailboatowners.com/showthread.php?p=935991#post935991

Note that these are not floor-to-ceiling bulkheads, but serve only as support for the chainplates that the port and stbd shrouds attach to. While I did rebed the chainplates, the prior owner must have had leaks for years.

The shelf fiddle has been removed and I ground out the fiberglass tabs and removed the old wood (the plys fell apart like dry pie crust). I also ground just the surface of the old tabbing against the hull, so the yellow layer (probably glue that held the fuzzy liner in place) is gone and it is basically clean glass (sort of a darkish fleshy color).

I don't want to use new ply, and in any case finding marine grade ply isn't easy. I bought some poplar hardwood, same 3/4 in thickness and will shape it.

Questions:
    1. Any reason not to use hardwood like poplar, and should the glass/epoxy tabbing repair adhere well to it?
    2. I have seen a West help post that recommended "738 Biaxial Fabric (with a mat backing)" for the tabbing strips, and have seen posts here saying mat backing isn't needed and wastes epoxy. Any recommendations on type and thickness of glass cloth? Thought I'd repeat what Hunter did - 4 inches along hull and 2 along wood. How many layers?