B 22 Cat

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by Dave Butler, Apr 24, 2013.

1. Dave Butler

Dave Butler Junior Member

I am an amateur designer - avid sailor. I just posted some images of my design for a 22 foot trailer-able catamaran with hydrofoil assist and biplane rig.

Just wanted to get some constructive criticism from any knowledgeable designers out there. Images are under Dave Butler.

http://www.boatdesign.net/gallery/

2. Doug Lord

Doug Lord Flight Ready

Dave, interesting. I have a question about the hulls-they look to be very close together and planing-is that right? If true it may cause a problem with the high low speed drag of the planing hulls. Hydroptere.ch uses planing hulls with a retractable step along with foils. I imagine the retractable step is there to reduce drag in pre planing conditions.
    Your foils look similar to the Swiss lake racer, SYZ -how do you control altitude? They use surface piercing foils angled to create lift through speed-speed controls altitude. Your foils look like "J" foils with no vertical lift from the daggerboard section of the foil so they would probably need some sort of altitude control. Now if the foils are designed just for foil assist, they might do better under the hulls where they wouldn't penertate the surface. See the Nacra 20 foil assist cat below. Also, see the picture of Parlier's test cat with stepped planing hulls-non retractable steps.(last)
    I "grabbed" one of your pictures and posted it below-if you'd rather I delete it just say the word.

click on the picture for a better view:

Attached Files:

3. Dave Butler