absolute beginner ply/epoxy or ply/glass

Discussion in 'Materials' started by wannabe, Jul 15, 2004.

1. wannabe

wannabe Junior Member

i have a couple of questoins really, firstly i am wondering wether to build a ply epoxy hull or a ply core firbreglass hull and am wondering if anyone could offer me any advice on the pros and cons of the two methods? Also i would like to know if there is a better tool than a jigsaw for cutting ply as the jigsaw tends to rip the veneer on the edges up a bit?
    Any help you can give me would be greatly appreciated as i am completely new to this i bought my first boat a few months ago and ever since then have been dying to build something, preferably something that floats :cool:

2. JR-Shine

JR-Shine SHINE

I would say that it depends on the design of the boat. Some boats are designed with plywood as the center of a fiberglass/epoxy sandwich and the strength of the boat depends on that. Other boats are just made of wood with a layer of epoxy painted on to seal the wood from water. In the first example your building more of a composite boat, whereas in the second your building a wood boat. Personally, I think a composite boat is the way to go. Why not take advantage of the advancements in resin and fiberglass?

What you build depends on what you prefer. Just do some research, like you are here, and you will have enough information to make an informed decision. Best of luck.

Joel
    Boatbuildercentral.com

3. TSITL

TSITL Junior Member

If you're worried about your jigsaw cutting too rough, get a finer tooth blade for it. The finer the teeth the cleaner the cut.

4. wannabe

wannabe Junior Member

thankyou

thank you :)

5. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder