Want COI for my stock Suntracker pontoon

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by griggsmars, Jan 15, 2013.

1. griggsmars

griggsmars Junior Member

Hello, it's my first time on site, from Shark River, N.J. I have a completely stock 1996 30' Suntracker Party Barge with a single 120hp Force outboard that I use to take people on six pack charters around Shark River Bay. We stay in Shark River Bay and the boat never sees the Ocean. As a recreational boat it is rated to carry 14 people or 2200 lbs. The boat easily holds 14 people with no issues, but I am restricted to six pack charters unless I can get a Certificate of Inspection. I have a 50 ton Masters Captain's License so more passengers no problem.
    I know this is no easy task to accomplish but would love any advise besides the obvious (buy a boat that has a COI). I also know that the weight rating on a pontoon has changed from 145lbs to 185lbs which would only put me at 11.89 passengers. So the question is will it be worth it to up the passengers . I have also seen websites for other pontoon boats that appear completely stock and have been inspected to carry more than 6 passengers. Thanks for any advise, Mike

2. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

On a boat (pontoon) you can do things to pass an inspection and try to get the COI:
    -calculations to justify the scantlings
    -naval architecture calculations, stability, etc.
    -reinforce certain areas, if necessary.
    -lightening other areas.
    -increase displacement.
    -review and improve the safety, fire fighting, pollution
    -etc
    But give solutions without knowing the boat is not possible. If you wish, you can send me more information: 657677483@orange.es
    Regards

3. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

4. griggsmars

griggsmars Junior Member

Hey Gonzo, are you talking about the small vessel waiver program?

5. Eric Sponberg

Eric Sponberg Senior Member

Hi Griggs,