Design characteristics and cruiser seaworthyness

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by sskimberdreams, Apr 23, 2004.

1. sskimberdreams

sskimberdreams New Member

I'll start by saying im very new to the sailing world. What I do know is limited to the information gleamed from various books.

I'm particularly curious about how design aspects such as LWL, beam, draft, freeboard, displacement, keel design, rig setup, etc. affect a cruiser's performace in normal and rough seas sailing conditions. I don't know enough about sailing as of yet to understand what role each variation plays. I understand the proverbial tradeoff in boat design between functionality and comfort. When I do buy a cruiser, my highest priority will be a boat that both handles well in bad weather and is in general a strong sailer. What I don't want is a boat that looks good at anchorage, but is subpar out on the open ocean. So what should I be looking at?

You're welcome to answer my question straight out, but since it's such a large subject im happy to do the work. I'd be very appreciative if you can just point me in the direction of any websites, past threads, books, etc. that deal with the question I raised. Thanks in advance.

2. sorenfdk

sorenfdk Yacht Designer

Go to http://www.boatus.com and do a search for "brewer". What (hopefully) comes up is a number of articles written by Ted Brewer in which I'm sure you'll find a lot of the information you want.

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Ted's book "Understanding Boat Design" is a very good primmer for the beginner to get his 'feet wet' on the subject.