A new guy's hello and plan. Jet drive Tunnel hull.

Discussion in 'Jet Drives' started by Coreyjon, Aug 4, 2008.

1. Coreyjon

Coreyjon New Member

This may or may not be the most appropriate place to place this but its close. My names Corey, and I have a problem, I love engineering design, speed, and having fun. I'm currently a aircraft mechanic in the air force so when it comes to wrenching/building I'm good, although sometimes I think outside of my own boundaries. I've never designed a boat, and I have never built one. In fact, I never really thought about boating as a significant hobby or even thought that passionately about it before. My best friends father is into boats, even fixes up old boat motors, and we would go out on his boats every now and then, and it was always fun, and relaxing. I'm young, and while that limits my overall experience, I think I make up for it with my imagination, and drive. I didn't want to design a build my first boat, having no real experience, so I baught a set of plans for a 15 ft tunnel hull design (as I am passionate about the engineering and physics involved with flight - the tunnel hull caught my eye for several reasons) I have not received the plans yet but it does call for a 35-100 hp outboard short drive - my plan is to modify the plan somewhat to use a large jet ski engine / jet drive combo. My reasons are to reduce weight, to lower the center of gravity by being able to place the motor further down inside the hull, and to streamline the back of the boat better.

-I should state the boat weight will be in the neighborhood of around 220 lbs or so with out engine. I weight currently 213 lbs, so 440 lbs without engine, not sure how much a jet ski weights, but I think a large jet ski engine would work.