Weight Capacity?? - New Boat User

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by abmayfield, Aug 3, 2011.

1. abmayfield

abmayfield New Member

Hi! I've got a question for you. I'm new to dealing with boats and have no idea what I'm doing.

I'm looking to purchase a boat for my disabled husband. I've had a rough
    time this weekend - we purchased 2 boats and both of them ended up being too small once we got them on the water. He and I are both above 300lbs and the first boat (14' fiberglass fishing boat) sat too low in the water making it terrifying and the second one (15' fishing boat with an outboard motor) ended up actually taking on water because of the weight in the back of the boat and water splashing up into it.

I'm looking at a 17' Deep V-Hull boat right now, and I'm worried that I will get myself stuck with something else that is worthless to me. Do you have an idea as to the weight limit of this type of boat? Here are photos...

http://denver.craigslist.org/boa/2523268163.html

2. lewisboats

lewisboats Obsessed Member

Most boats have a number on the side by the transom...this is the capacity of the boat. There should also be a capacity label somewhere back there too. If the manufacturer went by CG rules then 1 person is rated at 145 lbs...so you need a boat that is rated for at least 5 persons capacity but preferably 6 to keep from being right at the edge of capacity. That 17 footer looks to have been built for 6 passengers so you should be OK...but check the capacity label anyway. It should read 6 passengers or somewhere over 800 lbs capacity.

edit to correct a number.

3. Stumble

Stumble Senior Member