Cabin/Pilothouse Rebuild Advice?

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Feral Cement, Jul 5, 2009.

1. Feral Cement

Feral Cement New Member

I could use some good advice on how to rebuild (replace) the cabin top and pilothouse on a 45' ferro-cement Hartley Tahitian sloop. My background is construction - I can build houses from trees - but I don't want to attempt to transfer home building and remodeling skills to the marine environment and have it wash off when a big wave slams me.

Links, photos, descriptions, and other examples of what I should do (as well as what I should NOT do) would be greatly appreciated. I'll be using mostly SS fasteners but not sure what species of wood to use - Yellow Pine, Oak, Pressure Treated? 1"? 5/4"? 2"? What adhesives to tie wood superstructure to cement side decks? 5200? Life-Caulk? Liquid Nails? If I can't afford some sort of fiber sheet goods for the top and sides, I'll be using plywood. Advice on marine grades or suitable alternatives?

Thanks.

John

Here's what the finished product should look like:

Attached Files:

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

I'll just repeat what I've already mentioned on another site . . .

It's always difficult to "attach" to ferro builds. The best method is creating a flange in the concrete, then bedding a mating structure to the flange, using through bolts.

Don't even think about Liquid Nails. It has no business on a boat. For that matter, most of the stuff you're used to working with (PT, OSB, etc.) have little use on a boat.

Considering the size of the areas you'll be replacing, you will not need much plywood, so opting for a quality marine grade is just good business sense.

Yellow pine and oak (the whites, not the reds) are good lumber choices. You could do everything in SYP which is as good as many hardwoods and more rot resistant.