A little help please for an old first-time builder

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by StandedInMx, Jun 30, 2018.

1. StandedInMx

StandedInMx New Member

Hi guys,

Novice here, enthusiastic though limited woodworker, looking to make a pontoon boat for carrying up to 800lb of people and gear very slowly around a local lake. I hope to be able to move the boat with my 55lb Minn Kota trolling motor, but if that won’t work I’ll have to find a small outboard.

I am thinking perhaps 12ft x 6ft, ½ in plywood floats and deck, floats 2 or 3 ft apart. I have estimated materials at 400lb tops. My floatation calculation suggests each float would need to have a cross section approaching 240 sq in.

Given my limited woodworking skills I am looking at a basic box shape, perhaps with tapered ends. To make the most of the very limited power, would an approximately square section be best, or should I go for rectangular, and if so, would narrow and deep (say 12 in wide by 20in) be preferable to broad and shallow?

What would the preferable treatment be for bow and stern? Would there be a noticeable advantage in having curved sides or bottom?

I have read around the forum a bit and seen similar questions, but for slightly different configurations. Any and all tips will be much appreciated.

2. rwatson

rwatson Senior Member

Hi Stranded.
    Good to see a beginner with reasonable and practical questions.

If you are "going slow", then maybe you don't have to worry about an efficient shape. All of those points are important.

But, if you are using batteries, then the power drain of an inefficient hull could be important.

I think you could find some free plans for you project that would optimise all of those points.
    By extending your skills a bit, you would end up with a much more satisfying results.

Free pontoon boat plans http://www.jemwatercraft.com/pontoon.php

1.JPG

hoytedow likes this.
  3. fallguy

fallguy Senior Member

4. messabout