first boat/summer project--22' "viking," comments?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Bernard Arnest, Feb 16, 2004.

1. Bernard Arnest

Bernard Arnest New Member

Hi,
    I am new to boatbuilding, but am possibly interested in constructing a family runabout over the summer in time for our beach vacation :) Actually, we usually rent a house with another family that is close friends with ours. So I need a boat that can carry a max. of 10 people. Something open, it doesn't need to be luxurious, just attractive in a simple elegant way and functional. At this point this project is only a couple weeks in my imagination and totally up in the air.

I was looking at the 22' viking walk-through from clark craft. I am a 16-yr-old, thus I will have nearly two full months of summer vacation and all day during that period to work on it, many hours. Hopefully enough hours? Say 60 days, X 8hrs/day, 480 hours? While I get the summer off :), the disadvantage of being a 16-yr-old is that I have a tight budget. If I finish it and it looks great, my dad will probably buy the motor for me, the biggest budget-buster. But oak deck planking, seats, the steering mechanism, not to mention yards of fiberglass and sheets of plywood, they add up. What ballpark figure are they going to add up to, so that I can save up, or even drop the thought of this project right now if it's much too high?