Electronics box build advice.

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by samir elbaguer, Dec 16, 2018.

1. samir elbaguer

samir elbaguer Junior Member

Hi, I been following this forum for a while. Got a lot of valuable hints while building a console for my boat.
    I in the design process of building an overhead electronics box. What I have in mind is basically a square box. I'm thinking of just going with a female mold made out of ether a laminate board or an MDF after sealing it with spray can primer sanding it and spring it with some paint and having it polished. It's my first time building a mold, although I'm familiar with fiberglass laminating process.
    I don't have a spray gun, so I'm limited to using spray can primers and paints. It's a one off job, so breaking the mold after I'm done is not an issue.
    Any advice on pros and cons of using laminate board vs MDF and what primers I should use-avoid will be highly appreciated. Thank you

2. fallguy

fallguy Senior Member

Not sure why you'd build a mould.

It would be much easier to buy a sheet of marine core like corecell or divinycel and get it delivered cut down to ship ups (not freight).

Then you can hand laminate the panels on a flat table with plastic for release.

Or, if you go to say 12mm core; you could actually hotglue the entire box together, if small enough. Then you'd radius the edges and glass it on the outside monocoque.

Or there is also plywood. Fasten it with yellow glues and stainless nails. Router it and it has the added benefit of being able to take a screw.

In fact, one of the only places I like plywood is the console. A minimal amount of inside glasswork and you have a square, sturdy, mountable, screwable box-laminate the outside with epoxy n glass a bit and it is also water resistant. For holes; no core fill needed.

3. samir elbaguer