Tow Tank Model Build?

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by freeski27, Oct 13, 2010.

1. freeski27

freeski27 Naval Arch. - Student

I am a Naval Architecture student here in NYC, USA and I plan on building a tow tank model of a small sailboat design that I have done. I tried to find some decent info or literature on model builds, but didn't come across much.

The scale model will be just over 3 feet long. How do you recommend going about the build? Carve foam? Cut sections from wood and try to glass? etc. Any advice would be very helpful.

-Noble

2. Submarine Tom

Submarine Tom Previous Member

Glass or epoxy over carved foam.

-Tom

3. Crag Cay

Crag Cay Senior Member

Saw or slice up thin 'flexy ply' into 'strips' as appropriate for the curvature of the model.

Strip plank over frames cut from regular ply. Use epoxy thickened with West Microlight.

Skin with glass tissue and epoxy.

4. wardd

wardd Senior Member

here's another way cut out the station outlines out of anything mount them to a board and fill the voids anything, crumpled paper.

layer modeling clay over it and fair with a spline

build a box around the base and coat with a good release agent such as simonize..

pour plaster in to make a female mold.

after its cleaned up a model can be made of paper mache and sealed

5. mydauphin

mydauphin Senior Member

OK, so I have tank and models then what? What else do I have build to get a working idea of which hull is better. Sorry for my ignorance, I am building dingy and would like to try a few models.

6. wardd

wardd Senior Member

do you have a swimming pool?

7. mydauphin

mydauphin Senior Member

No, I was going to build RC boats and try in pond....

8. mydauphin

mydauphin Senior Member

Or could borrow pool..

9. wardd

wardd Senior Member

use the filter out flow and a mail scale for drag readings

a simple way would be a line over a pulley to a weight on the scale, read how much the weight weighs as the model pulls on it