Beginning: Hull shape and size

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by Jeremy Perkins, Feb 12, 2024.

1. Jeremy Perkins

Jeremy Perkins New Member

I’m new to boat building and I’m trying to figure out how to build cataraman hulls 9 feet wide by 75 feet long and I don’t have any idea where to begin.

2. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

Hi Jeremy,

Welcome to the forum.
    Unfortunately whilst it sounds easy, it is not so straight forward.

Since what is a hull, it is a 3D shape that supports the whole weight of the total boat, when in water, and floats on a given waterline.

So, to "design a hull" one needs to know what is going inside it, the weight, and then what speed you hope to achieve - defines the shape more than just a box.

So, without further information, it is not so easy to answer.

3. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

Could you elaborate a bit more about your boat building plans please Jeremy?
    Re your 75' x 9' cat hulls, are they your design?
    If not, who designed them? Are you able to post any sketches or drawings of them?
    Please do take careful note of Ad Hoc's comments above, especially re the weight calculations - excess weight during the build has been the downfall of many a catamaran builder.

4. Alan Cattelliot

Alan Cattelliot Senior Member

Scaaaaaaaary... I hope the moderator could help us a little bit here, and could also be indulgent with regards to the following :

Hi Jeremy,
    I ask ChatGPT for you (my best new friend ). Here is the answer I had to your question :

Building a catamaran with hulls of such dimensions is a significant undertaking, especially if you're new to boat building. Here's a general overview of the process to help you get started:

1. Research and Planning:
      • Familiarize yourself with catamaran designs and construction techniques. There are many resources available online, including books, videos, and forums dedicated to boat building.