Great Loop hull design help

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by mikeasullivanjr, Jul 15, 2013.

1. mikeasullivanjr

mikeasullivanjr New Member

WHAT!?! Another Great Loop thread?

Yes. Another one. And warning, I'm a novice just starting out. I've never built a boat.

With that said here is my reason for posting. I've been lurking around for about a week searching and researching some of the previous threads made in regards to great loop hull designs, and they're stability specifically in the Great Lakes. At some point in the future I'm interested in making the trek from New Orleans, or so, to New York via the mostly inland portion of the great loop. Part of my journey I hope can be made through the Erie Canal. I've been looking at houseboats for some time with this idea in mind, but am worried about their stability in the notoriously rough waters of the Great Lakes. So, here's my question. Is there a boat design that would be ideal for this adventure? I'd like a houseboat design if possible and I'm thinking of dimensions in the 80 feet long by 16 foot beam, by 15 feet tall, with a shallow enough draft for the canal. I was looking at the River Walker hull, but am wondering of the bow should be altered to more of a point to handle large waves. Also, I've been thinking about a catamaran. How would a cat with those dimensions handle the weather of the lakes? Obviously, I wouldn't be underway during really heavy weather, but I don't want to be caught unprepared either in case I can't make it to a safe harbor. I know there will be some negative comments forthcoming, but any help would be greatly appreciated and any input will be welcome.

Thanks in advance

Mike S.

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Welcome to the forum Mike.