Need Help Making Mold

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by AverageJoe, Aug 7, 2008.

1. AverageJoe

AverageJoe Junior Member

I have a part that I need to make a mold out of. I have no experience whatsoever in doing this. It is my goal to find someone to come here and make a mold off an existing plug. If anybody knows anyone who does this or who would be willing to take on this project, please let me know. I would of course compensate this person properly.

Thanks and have a great day.

2. the1much

the1much hippie dreams

what part? how big of a project?
    welcome to the forum ;)

3. AverageJoe

AverageJoe Junior Member

I have a top for a pontoon boat that I am trying to build. It would take the place of a alum enclosure. The plug is pretty much finished, that much I know how to do, but the mold manuf I have no clue about.

4. the1much

the1much hippie dreams

gel ( tooling gel) the part,,,then lay-up your glass on that,,make it at least 3 times thicker then ya piece,,make sure you have plenty of "framing" around it,,( also glass in a hook or 2 to make it easy to pick up and move around,,,,,remember that the mold is what your money is made from,, so it needs to be built to last.,,after its made,,you'll have to wet sand or fill any "bad" spots,,then its time to think about ya release agent.
    have you used the "search" option for "making molds"?,,, theres gotta be a few hundred threads on it,,hehe ;)

5. AverageJoe

AverageJoe Junior Member

Care to come do it?

6. the1much

the1much hippie dreams

hehe,,,,, you couldnt afford me,,:)
    plus im pretty s-l-o-w ,,hehe ;)

7. AverageJoe

AverageJoe Junior Member