6.5 hp clone set screw on throttle?

Discussion in 'DIY Marinizing' started by tenfingergrip, Mar 13, 2010.

  1. tenfingergrip
    Joined: Mar 2010
    Posts: 6
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Kinston, NC

    tenfingergrip Junior Member

    I went over to Harbor Freight yesterday to purchase a Greyhound 6.5 hp clone for $90. Walked away with 2 reconditioned Central Machinery 6.5 hp clones for $65 each. I'm gonna attempt to put a longtail conversion together for my Four Rivers layout and the info in this forum has been invaluble to a novice who has no mechanical experience on motors. Questions for you experts:

    1. There is a set screw that limits the throttle movement....is that IN PLACE of a Governor or IN ADDITION to a governor on the Central Machinery motors? Can it/should it be removed or adjusted for additional speed/rpms etc. Is that what it is?

    2. Is the Central Machinery motor same as the Greyhound or just another brand of clone or is the Greyhound an updated version/name?

    I haven't had a chance to start taking the tank and muffler off to get to the throttle linkage yet.....I'm not gonna remove the governor if it has one, but I may cripple it with a zip tie if that is an option. I sure don't want to throw a rod because of over revving. My application for the lontail doesn't need speed.

    Any answers or comments would be appreciated!
     
  2. pistnbroke
    Joined: Jan 2009
    Posts: 1,405
    Likes: 33, Points: 48, Legacy Rep: 404
    Location: Noosa.Australia where god kissed the earth.

    pistnbroke I try

    the first thing is to take a few pictures so we can be sure which clone it is ...you can just post them direct from your computer no need for hosting.

    go advanced then the paper clip symbol
     
  3. tenfingergrip
    Joined: Mar 2010
    Posts: 6
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Kinston, NC

    tenfingergrip Junior Member

    Pistonbroke,
    Here are a few pics of the Central Machinery 6.5 clone I bought. The set screw allows for more throttle in the "rabbit" position. The pic#4 shows the carb, a Huayi from Japan. Does it have a governor?
     
  4. Jeff
    Joined: Jun 2001
    Posts: 1,368
    Likes: 71, Points: 58, Legacy Rep: 923
    Location: Great Lakes

    Jeff Moderator

    The pictures didn't post for some reason - can you give it another try. Make sure you click the upload button after you've selected the files. (sorry, the attachment feature isn't very intuitive at first.)
     
  5. tenfingergrip
    Joined: Mar 2010
    Posts: 6
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Kinston, NC

    tenfingergrip Junior Member

  6. pistnbroke
    Joined: Jan 2009
    Posts: 1,405
    Likes: 33, Points: 48, Legacy Rep: 404
    Location: Noosa.Australia where god kissed the earth.

    pistnbroke I try

    This is a genuine Lifan /Honda Clone with a govener. How it works is that the governer weights are held in by a spring ..when rpm reaches 3600 the weights move out and start to shut the throttle . this limits the rpm to 3600. That is the function of the rod nearest the recoil starter end of your engine and despite the spring around it ( to remove play and hence hunting) it is a solid rod governer to carb throttle plate. The throttle lever works a spring which varies the speed at which the governer moves to close the throttle ....more tension on the spring higher rpm....so the stop will adjust the governed rpm but get a rev counter on it and dont go over 4-4500rpm with a standard con rod .
    To disable the governer wire the lever under the tank in the not running position. dont leave it loose or the weights will fly out and do damage . I dont think its worth opening the motor to remove them unless you are doing a major tune up to get 8 hp but John O Toole has covered this in the Weedeater conversion Post and instructions on the net if you do a lifan go kart type google. Personally I would leave the governer in but load the engine a little below govener setting or you will not be getting full power.
     
  7. tenfingergrip
    Joined: Mar 2010
    Posts: 6
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Kinston, NC

    tenfingergrip Junior Member

    Thanks, Pistnbroke! That's exactly what I wanted to know. Why I asked for the experts! I don't intend to remove or disable the governor as I will not want to exceed hull speed. I'll be using it in a swamp/beaverpond. Is that little screw on the front side of the throttle lever to adust the idle or what? Just realized your userid may be indication of your "condition" rather than what happened to your piston?
     
  8. pistnbroke
    Joined: Jan 2009
    Posts: 1,405
    Likes: 33, Points: 48, Legacy Rep: 404
    Location: Noosa.Australia where god kissed the earth.

    pistnbroke I try

    well with the exchange rate into australia from the UK is it not pissed and yes broke ..if you look at the picture you will see two screws the plastic one with the double slot and the small brass one ( lower) one is the idle mixture and one the idle stop ..sorry I dont know which is which as mine is running fine I dont want to fiddle ....you wont get a low idle only about 1500 rpm as the unit has fixed igniton timing

    To post picture you do not need to host it ...go advanced pick up the paperclip symbol then browse for you photo on your computer .when you have selected all you want then upload ...wait then check your post on preview .....
     

    Attached Files:

  9. tenfingergrip
    Joined: Mar 2010
    Posts: 6
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Kinston, NC

    tenfingergrip Junior Member

    I tried that twice with no results. My computer uploaded for an inordinate amount of time then quit, the browse areas went blank, but no pics went with the post. All of my picture files are over 2 mb jpeg and the upload utility says the max is 2 meg. So I found the photobucket host which I find cumbersome. Is the 2 mb limit the problem? Guess the moderator would have to answer that question. Anyway, thanks for your help Pistnbroke. I'll be ordering my Thai conversion kit from a guy in Alabama that got a few in from the dealer over in Bankok. Boys and their Toys!!!
     
  10. marshmat
    Joined: Apr 2005
    Posts: 4,127
    Likes: 146, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 2043
    Location: Ontario

    marshmat Senior Member

    PB- my bad, evidently you're more familiar with this particular mechanism than I am- the similar engines I've used have either had no governor, or the type you describe (but that didn't look anything like this one's governor). Previous post relating to a different setup deleted.
     
  11. pistnbroke
    Joined: Jan 2009
    Posts: 1,405
    Likes: 33, Points: 48, Legacy Rep: 404
    Location: Noosa.Australia where god kissed the earth.

    pistnbroke I try

    no problem Marshmat ..I have a big foot sometimes..funny though I went to my post to change the first line and its gone!!! I dont mind but if the moderator is going to change things he should let you know.. this one has a centrifugal govener on the camshaft ..I have seen air flaps on the Briggs etc and the ones for bikes and carts usually have no govener
     
  12. Jeff
    Joined: Jun 2001
    Posts: 1,368
    Likes: 71, Points: 58, Legacy Rep: 923
    Location: Great Lakes

    Jeff Moderator

    Sorry pistnbroke. I have sent you a PM.

    Yes, sorry. The native attachment feature on the forum currently works best if the pictures are resized to screen size locally so all that file size doesn't have to transfer over to the server. Sorry for the inconvenience. With cameras outputting bigger and bigger files the ideal would be something like silverlight to resize on the browser side, but that requires a plugin and is a bit proprietary yet; I suppose we'll have to just do the resizing serverside and increase the upload limits in the future and try and make it a bit more intuitive in the future.
     
  13. pistnbroke
    Joined: Jan 2009
    Posts: 1,405
    Likes: 33, Points: 48, Legacy Rep: 404
    Location: Noosa.Australia where god kissed the earth.

    pistnbroke I try

    have a look at www.afordablegokarts.com shows you how to remove the govener and do a throttle linkage ....photo below
     

    Attached Files:

  14. tenfingergrip
    Joined: Mar 2010
    Posts: 6
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Kinston, NC

    tenfingergrip Junior Member

    Thx, PB
    Great pictures and a good link. I downloaded the pics so I could enlarge them when and if I decide to go for some more power/rpms. Right now I have no need as I'll be using the longtail in a beaverpond of about 200 acres and speed is not required, just convienence. If I get the urge to put the longtail in the river or lake, I will use the gokart instructions you forwarded to remove my governor. Thanks for all your help!
     

  15. notsofast
    Joined: Nov 2009
    Posts: 13
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Philippines

    notsofast Junior Member

    Thanks Pistnbroke! You just saved me a whole lot of effort! I was just about to open another engine when I read your post.

    -----------------------------------
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. YotaTruck
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    4,614
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.