55ft steel hull ??s

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by glasssurfer, Dec 7, 2009.

1. glasssurfer

glasssurfer Junior Member

hi all! i just got myself a boat, its a big one. 55 ft steel hull, i guess they call it orgami design and i understand its a brent swaine design.. with a twin keel so it can sit on the beach.

im a bit of a noob. but im learning.

the boat has been moored in heriot bay on quadra island abd was last out of the water 2 years ago, with new zinc and bottom paint.

im guessing the guy used coal tar epoxy?

there a fair bit of groth on the boat so im going to try and get it up ont he beach asap

should i scrape all the crustations off? zink it and repaint or wait to re paint it in the summer after sandblasting? preasure wash with sand?

any help? i will get some pics up soon, im not on my computer now...

i saw brent swain posts here often, hopefully he will chime in!

very excited but this is going to take lots of work.. but im ready willing and able.. except finacially im not very sound.. so its gonna be a long haul

thanks, cant wait to get some more info/ advise.
    g

2. glasssurfer

heres what im working on

input?

Attached Files:

3. Tad

Tad Boat Designer

g......

I know a bit about the boat....I can see the roof of my Dad's house in your first picture. My impression is she is lightly built for her size, structural issues will be a worry down the road, depending on your intended use.

I would be most concerned about stopping the rust inside right now. Get the fresh water out of her, get some heat in there and scale the rust off everything. Blasting will be best but if not possible you'll have to do it as best you can. Then paint with primer. Probably just wait on the exterior until the weather improves, then blast and use a proper paint system.

Rusting through from the inside out would be my biggest concern.

Good luck.

4. HReeve

HReeve Junior Member