Float/ama hull to deck joint

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by bruceb, Apr 19, 2019.

1. bruceb

bruceb Senior Member

I am rebuilding two GRP ama's for a 25' sailing tri, the decks are removed, recored, and now ready to re-attach them. There is no access once the decks are placed on the floats. The hulls have a female flange and the decks have matching male flanges.
    What should I use to "glue" them together? There is about 45 feet of joints on each hull, and I don't think I can mix/apply/control that much epoxy with out it going off too soon, particularly since it is warm weather here and I have to do the job outdoors.
    Any ideas? Also, what do commercial builder like Corsair use?
    Thanks for any ideas!
    Bruce

2. Dejay

Dejay Senior Newbie

I have zero experience. But maybe get some helpers, work early in the morning and / or keep the epoxy components in the fridge overnight?

3. fallguy

fallguy Senior Member

45 feet is nothing

You wet the tape out on a plastic table say 16 feet long and lay it over itself 3 times or 6 times on a shorter table. Mix all the epoxy for each tape, say about 45 ounces or 1:1 by weight and then once it is wetted out onto a stack above itself; roll it onto a cardboard tube and unroll it onto the hull. For multiple layers; you can work wet on green. I have rolled 32 foot tapes and done 100 feet at a time with 60 minute epoxy in 70F. Hotter temps is bad. I also recommend you peelply the final layer to avoid drippage.

For wetting out, avoid using small cylinders and use gallon pails. Then use a bubble bister riller and a paint roller the same width as the tape to move resins. All my wirk is done on a plastic cover, you can roll it or use the other side if the first batches start to cure.

For more questions, feel free to ask. An easy job, but you gotta move fast.

BlueBell likes this.
  4. JamesG123

JamesG123 Senior Member

Pictures help.