41 Foot Trailerable Blue Water Cruising Catamaran

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by Skint For Life, Apr 27, 2011.

1. Skint For Life

Skint For Life Junior Member

Hi all,

BACKGROUND: I've been trying to solve this whole "foldable boat goes from road legal trailer to sailing the worlds oceans" thing for a while now.

I have no boat design training. I am well aware that any design/designs that I come up with will have to be checked over thoroughly by a naval architect before any such design could be built.

To me the goal is to get a road legal trailerable boat to the water and launched and have it capable of cruising the world. I don't want to cruise the world at this stage, but it would be nice to know the design could do it if required.

I am new to sailing and really enjoy it. In design I do not want to limit myself to conventional sailing wisdom. If a kite is a better option and it's not considered a "sailboat" anymore I'm ok with that, I'm happy if whatever the end result is gets the job done. To me the look of any boat is irrelevant until it's function is proven. Beauty is an added bonus as long as it does not interfere with function.

PARAMETERS: In New Zealand a light simple trailer and load (towed behind a standard 4X4/car/van etc.) cannot be heavier than 3500KG (3.5ton) It cannot exceed the measurements 12.5 meters long, 2.5 meters wide and 4.25 meters high. A load can over hang the towing hitch forward, but again not more than a total length of 12.5 meters so I don't think this will be relevant at this point.