3D studio max

Discussion in 'Software' started by stonedpirate, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. stonedpirate
    Joined: Nov 2009
    Posts: 384
    Likes: 3, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 23
    Location: Australia

    stonedpirate Senior Member

    Hello,

    I have been modelling in 3ds max for years and cant be bothered learning another modeling program.

    I want to design a stich and glue hull and need a way to turn my model into chine shapes that i can transfer to plywood.

    Below is a simple test model that i applied a UVW unwrap modifier to in order to get the shapes.

    [​IMG]

    My question is, is this a reasonable way of achieving this?

    Or do yacht focused software provide a featur for flattening panels to get the shape?

    It would be nice to have more CAD features in max like accurate measuring tools for length and volume. Is there a CAD plugin for max?

    If not, guess i'll have to wing it.

    Anyone know if max can work out the volume of this thing?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. lewisboats
    Joined: Oct 2002
    Posts: 2,329
    Likes: 129, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 1603
    Location: Iowa

    lewisboats Obsessed Member

    Freeship will do it for you...and if you can export it into something freeship can import then it would be very simple to get the panel expansions.
     
  3. Timothy
    Joined: Oct 2004
    Posts: 307
    Likes: 15, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 202
    Location: canada

    Timothy Senior Member

    Just go to utilities,(the hammer)select measure from the list. and you can get surface area, volume , center of volume . as well as length hight and width. With these it is easy to calculate displacement and center of effort or whatever.
     
  4. stonedpirate
    Joined: Nov 2009
    Posts: 384
    Likes: 3, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 23
    Location: Australia

    stonedpirate Senior Member

    Thanks Lewis.

    I downloaded freeship and made a simple boat.

    There doesnt seem to be a feature for getting the panel shapes.

    Anyone know where it is?

    Thanks
     
  5. stonedpirate
    Joined: Nov 2009
    Posts: 384
    Likes: 3, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 23
    Location: Australia

    stonedpirate Senior Member

    Thanks Tim.

    Now i just got to figure out what the numbers mean :p

    Is there a way in max to use meters, and cm^2 etc.

    What do the units in max represent?
     
  6. Timothy
    Joined: Oct 2004
    Posts: 307
    Likes: 15, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 202
    Location: canada

    Timothy Senior Member

    The units in max are generic . You can have max calculate in any units you want .Go to customize on the main toolbar select units from the list and choose metric , imperial, fractions. decimals etcetera.
     
  7. stonedpirate
    Joined: Nov 2009
    Posts: 384
    Likes: 3, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 23
    Location: Australia

    stonedpirate Senior Member

    Never mind.

    Figured it out :)

    Cheers
     

  8. stonedpirate
    Joined: Nov 2009
    Posts: 384
    Likes: 3, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 23
    Location: Australia

    stonedpirate Senior Member

    Beat me to it :)
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.