350 V8 OMC 1987 (Chevy) engine

Discussion in 'Gas Engines' started by YvonneDee, Jul 30, 2010.

1. YvonneDee

YvonneDee Junior Member

I'm new to this bear with me......I'm a girl. Purchased 1987 Celebrity 21 foot V-hull. (Salt Water Boat). Boat ran OK except secondaries would not open. Rebuilt carb, new cap, wires and spark plug. Replaced intake manifold (much corrosion from salt water). New electrical harness, 2 new solenoids. New throttle arm very corroded. It runs erratic can not go over 2000 RPMs or it does go over 2000 RPMs. Strong smell of gas. Swapped carb with 3 other carbs that were good. Still same thing. No one can figure this out. No vacuum leaks either. Any suggestions would be appreciated.confused:

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Do you know where the gas is coming from? Changing parts without determining the problem is bad troubleshooting. It ends up being very expensinve and usually not solving the problem. The fuel pump could be leaking.

3. YvonneDee

YvonneDee Junior Member

350 V8 Omc 1987

Ok heres the short story. Its been at a marina for a year because they told me they were very busy. Got it back two months ago went to start it, no spark. They came and corrected the problem BUT there were no gauge lights except water temp gauge? You know the rest of the story. Now they are suggesting swapping the engine? I gave them till today to fix it. Then its going to another marina. NOTE: It back fires out the secondaries and they are sticking? I will call them and give them your opinion. VERY FRUSTRATING. Thank You!!

4. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

It sounds like it is running worse now.

5. CDK

CDK retired engineer

There's a long list of possible causes, but like Gonzo said, exchanging parts without proper diagnosis is a waste of time and money.