Problem with exhaust cooling

Discussion in 'Inboards' started by seastar, May 20, 2013.

1. seastar

seastar Junior Member

Hi, I put two Mitsubishi 4D55T diesels (from mid 80s Ford pickups) in a 1947 Monk, formerly powered with straight 8 Chrysler gas pots. To see the beast check out my FB albums:
    https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1029970270787.2005698.1271273247&type=1&l=4676b0af2b

I used ZF 25 gear so I still have counter rotation at the props. I use the original keel coolers. I put a crank pulley on each motor with five A section slots. I have a 3/4" Jabsco to push the coolant around and it all works fine. I run a little 1/2" Jabsco off the collant pump to push raw water into the exhaust. The exhaust is dry and wrapped up to and over a gooseneck. Below the gooseneck is the water injection point as the pipe goes straight down. At the bottom of that drop, there's a metal 45 and a coupler into 3" stainless tubing leading 20 odd feet back to the rubber mufflers and then out of the boat in stainless.

Problem: For some reason my exhaust raw water coolant pumps lose prime. I'm wondering if the exhaust pressure is too high for the pump's output. GlenL has a formula that says I only need a gallon and a half a minute, so that's how I built it, but then I tried upping the pump speed on one side, which worked well at the dock, but lost prime about an hour out under way. It's got unobstructed flow for sure, antisiphon as it comes into the boat. Any ideas:?:

2. tom kane

tom kane Senior Member

You can get pumps that have presure control on them by just turning a knob. No ideas about the lose of prime it just should not happen IF water flow is always available.

3. CDK

CDK retired engineer

The Jabsco pump can easily handle many times the exhaust pressure and even if it couldn't, that doesn't cause loss of prime.