Quick little questions about anchors

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by neovalk, Nov 9, 2005.

1. neovalk

neovalk Junior Member

Hi fellows!

I am a newbie on boatbuilding and design, so I have some silly doubts. May you help me?

1) does every boat have to have an anchor?

2) Is there any law in your country that demants such an artifact?

3) If so, why?

4) If not, when do you recommend me to use it so?

5) when you do have an anchor, how, and where is it normally installed?

6) I'm planning a few miles trip boat for along the coast. Should it have anchors? Consider that the longest trip may long 2 hours.

I hope I'm not bothering so much.
    Thanks forward.
    Leonardo Baptista Lopes.

2. Bergalia

Bergalia Senior Member

Anchors, Neovalk, if you go anywhere offshore, are essential. They are your 'parking brake', your mobile 'hitching post', and in the worst event a way of hauling yourself off reefs and shoals.
    I don't know of any country that requires them by law. But commonsense has little to do with the law.
    Depending on the size of your boat - at least two anchors are best, and for blue waters a kedge anchor is a 'must', (though trailing rope warps serve at a pinch).
    A personal choice, but I favour 'ploughs' as they grip in most 'bottoms' - mud, shingle, and shell, and they are easier to 'disengage'.
    Where to stow them ? Again I favour having them on deck, within easy reach (but well lashed down). And make sure that they are attached. Nothing more embarrassing than tossing it overboard, and finding the chain still coiled in its locker. ;)

3. Robjl

Robjl Senior Member

South Australia requires them by law.
    You should never, ever, ever put to sea without an anchor suited to the size of your boat, the depth of water you may find and the type of bottom (seabed). When cruising we carry 2 as a minimum.
    "Artifact" !!!
    A suitable anchor is more important than insurance.... it is your best insurance
    Suggest you read up a bit.