302 Merc New Buyer Checklist

Discussion in 'Sterndrives' started by mbuffone, Aug 16, 2011.

1. mbuffone

mbuffone Junior Member

Hello,

Hopefully I can find some good tips here. I'm looking at a '79 John Allmand w/ a 302 merc outdrive w/ 300 hours on it. It's been sitting for about a year. That boat is in excellent shape and was well taken care of. I'm new to all of this and I have a mechanic so I will not be 'working' on it as of yet. Just wanted a checklist for going through the engine and to see what are some of the main issues w/ this type of engine. I've been reading up on it and overheating seems to be an issue. Water pump, plugs, thermostat, clogged water intake, etc. Please if anyone could be so kind as to give me a rundown of simple maintainance and what to look out for. Thanks.

Matt

2. powerabout

powerabout Senior Member

fresh or salt water use?
    Exhaust elbow/risers are a maintenance item so need replacing every few years when used in salt water.
    The cylinder heads eat out in the exhaust ports when used in salt water.
    You would want to know the gears in the stern drive are in good condition so that involves removing the top cap of the sterndrive and removing the bearing carrier in the lower unit.
    Did it get annual services for last 30 years?
    Drive bellows will need replacing at that age as well so remove the drive to check they havn't already failed.
    The market value of that model sterndrive at that age is close to zero so factor that in when you buy it.

1 person likes this.
  3. mbuffone

mbuffone Junior Member

Hey, thanks for the reply. It will be used for salt water and he always took it out of water after use. It has new gimbel bearing and bellows he said. Thanks for the tips. If there anything else you can think of please let me know. Thanks.

Matt

4. mbuffone

mbuffone Junior Member

And one more thing. The guy was a mechanic also and took good care of it. So I believe it was serviced recently.

5. FMS