24' Fiberform - Rotten Stringers/Transom

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by Ehdrian, Apr 27, 2007.

1. Ehdrian

Ehdrian Junior Member

Hello Everyone,

I have been reading this site for while now and have learned allot about stringers and transoms. I was wondering if I could get some tips for my specific issue as I am very new to boat repair. :confused:

This boat is a 1977 24' Fiberform Cabin cruiser. It has four stringers running from the transom to the bow. The engines rest on the two center stringers. The stringers look like regular 2"x10" fir boards grafted at the top and bottom to fit he hull and furniture (galley/helm/motor mounts etc..). The twin engines are OMC 140's with OMC stringer 400 drives.

Bad news: All of the stringers are rotten and there is rot in the transom.

I would like to replace the stringers without removing the engines or the transom the first time through.

Has anyone replaced stringers without removing the engines? On this type of boat? How?

Can I just cap the end of the stringer with fiberglass (no wood touching wood) at the transom and replace the transom later so the new stringers are not affected by the transom repair.

What should I use underneath the stringer to keep it from touching the bottom of the boat?

Is there REALLY 'pour in' foam that could be used in place of a stringer?

What are the best tools for cutting out thick fiberglass around a stringer? Right now I'm using a side grinder.

Thank you very much to all those that help! :D

-=//-\drian Thompson=-

2. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

Ouch.
    I see two ways of doing this. The first is to leave the motors in, glass over the rot, pretend nothing's wrong, and wait for an engine to slam right through the bottom of the hull when you come off a wave.