Where to get started

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by Lochness, Oct 11, 2008.

1. Lochness

Lochness New Member

Sorry ahead of time if you guys get a lot of posts like this.

I'm currently a student up here in Maine. This coming summer I'm taking down a bunch of trees in my back yard (mostly Sugar Maples and Black oaks) and as such I'm going to have a lot of wood to play with. I've always wanted to build a wooden sail boat and this seems like the time to do it. Not one too be satisfied with using someone else's designs I wanted to make one of my own.

Heres what I have:

20' length (not counting bowsprit)
    displacement hull
    full length keel
    double ended
    lapstrake hull construction (have some experience related to it, not to mention I like the look)
    Ketch rig
    Self tacking jib (would like to use a boom but I've seen other very interesting self tacking systems for small boats that seem mechanically simple enough to replicate)
    Spritsail or gaff main (can't decide which)
    If needed for sail area a triangular top sail above the main
    lateen (traditional) mizzen

It would be intended for all day cruising around shore or in a lake. The unusual sail plan is is basically for the sake of fun and not for performance.

What I don't get or even know how to determine:
    beam (I know I want it narrow but not canoe narrow)
    freeboard
    sail area
    rudder area
    bowsprit length
    how the hell to do the lines drawing
    how to understand a lines drawing
    anything else important that I'm forgetting (I'm sure there is)