What inspires you as boat designer?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by tamaran, Dec 26, 2011.

1. tamaran

tamaran Junior Member

Hello all,
    I have noticed in the last years some boat designs (mostly powerboats) inspired by automotive brands and specific car designs.
    I am actually a professional car designer and joined the forum years ago due to my passion for sailing boats. I have no intention to design boats; I lack the knowledge and time for it. Therefore, I am just an admirer and passionate observer.
    In my job I try to get inspiration from fields other than cars, like Nature, Sculpture, Music, sci-fi, etc (needless to mention women, they are in all previous). And I really would like to know your opinion about the following:
    What inspires a boat designer?
    and
    Is car design a valid source of inspiration, or a fashion?

2. Alik

Alik Senior Member

For me, inspiration comes from:
    a) boating - from looking at boats in marina, cruising, observing what is practical, what looks great on water, playing with local boats of different parts of world, etc. We have some new ideas almost after every trip...
    b) any kind of visual experience; shapes of objects from chair or garbage bin... to Taj Mahal

Sometimes it is; most of times is not. Unfortunately boat design today is over saturated by 'car ideas'; but note that on car nobody walks on the front deck to put the fenders or access anchor in rough weather... Activities associated with cars are quite limited by activities associated with boats are wide.

3. Kiwifinn

Kiwifinn Junior Member

Seems to me the more I try to look outside of boat design in a traditional sence the less I get inspired. The old school "rules" of proportion just seem so hard to add value to. After all people are a certain height and like to see out through windows while standing and seated, working etc. Sure you can get ideas on how to treat edges and other detailing of that nature from cars etc.