1990 7.4L 454 w/ Volvo outdrive problem

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by boatddreamer, Oct 1, 2003.

1. boatddreamer

boatddreamer New Member

Hello everyone,

I am am considering buying a boat that has some motor/propulsion problems. Although I am mechanically inclined, I am relatively new to the boating scene and need some advice on what I may need to do to fix the problems and what information I should obtain from the owner to correctly diagnose the situation.

According to the owner, the boat had a problem with a gimble bearing (what is this?), which led to other problems. Here is the owner's description of the situation:

"When the gimble bearing failed the universal joint on the drive shaft failed and distroyed the bell housing and the bellows on the outdrive. This allowed water to enter the engine compartment. The engine compartment flooded up to the valve covers on the engine. No water entered the engine. The shaft also knocked the engine's cooling water intake hose loose and the engine ran hot just long enough to burn a hole in the Volvo rubber muffler. The engine was run after the mishap and then pickeled. No damage seems to have been done to the engine but there is no guarentee.

As a result of the flooding there are a number of electrical components that will probably need to be replaced. I will attempt to list the items I can think of but do not interpret this as a complete list. There may be other items affected by the flooding.

Gimble bearing, bell housing, main drive shaft with universals, bellows, and other components required to reassemble.

Engine starter, batteries, battery switch, battery charger, fresh water pump, water heater element, trim tab actuators and all associated wiring."

Based on the above information, I am trying to estimate the cost for repairing the boat. I am assuming the worst case scenario where the engine and outdrive will need to be replaced/repaired.