1973 Saftmate Fiberglass Tri-Hull Help

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by kmk_7110, May 5, 2007.

1. kmk_7110

kmk_7110 New Member

This is my first post. Sorry if its in the wrong forum. I'm new to boat remodeling/building, and I have some questions. :?: :?: I don't know most of the boat terms. So explain like you are explaining to a complete idiot.

I recently purchased this boat with a floor in it and it looked good. There was a piece of the floor that a previous owner put in and it was coming up, so me being me i went to investigate. I started to pull up the blue indoor/outdoor carpeting and found that the screws were rusted. I figured that this was from being outside for most of the snow-filled winter that we had, but i still proceded to try to take out the screws and was just going to replace that board with some PT plywood that I have in my garage. Well after pulling it up this is what i found.

http://img167.imageshack.us/my.php?image=1001433ee0.jpg
    :!: :!:

Then i proceded to go along and do another section of the floor closer to the transom, right around the middle of the boat, and i found it to be worse and from the looks of it. It was a floor put in by someone that did it wrong or thought they were doing it right and didn't because the ribs were all rotted out (in the next pic i have already torn them out they were made from 2xs and not very well made). The furthest piece of ply was harder to get out and after i got it out i can't seem to know why but i'm not going to ask questions. The ply that was original was rotted and the original floor was ply with fiberglass over it. Which i imagine is normal for floors. All the ribs are rotted and I like the layout of this boat because my other boat is a 14 foot fiber tri-hull with the seats going across the beam from stern to bow with an 18 hp Evinrude Fastwin tiller from the mid 60s. I want something that I can walk around in without climbing over stuff.