1970 65hp engine question

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by LaXMan, Jul 4, 2002.

1. LaXMan

LaXMan New Member

hey guys, im really really new to boats and everything, so i have a question about a 1970 65 hp motor. the thing has probably been sitting for about 15-20 years without being run at all, so i was wondering if its fixable. there was nothing wrong with it, it just hasnt been run at all for a very long time. i dont know what brand it is because its sitting at a relatives house, but i basically just want to know if its fixable or not for not too much money. if any of you feel the need to know any backround info on the boat itself feel free to ask, but as for right now i dont feel its necassary. thanks in advance.
    luke

2. Polarity

Polarity Senior Member

Hi Laxman and welcome to the forums!

A couple of Q's

Is it gas or diesel?

What kind of conditions has it been sitting in?

Part of your answer will depend on the make - if a lot of them were made then new and used spares are going to be cheaper than if it's a little known brand

Are you talking about doing this yourself or paying for a rebuild..

Paul

just askin!

3. LaXMan

LaXMan New Member

Hi Polarity.

The engine is gas, and as far as I know, it has been sitting outside for the past 15-20 years. That is, rain, snow, heat, and cold. If it helps, the engine has been covered. I'm not sure but the engine could be something along the lines of a "Johnson". My brother and I had thought about doing it ourselves because I know he knows alot more about this than I do, but, I would feel alot better about it if we just took the engine somewhere and pay for a rebuild. Thanks Paul

-Luke

4. Polarity

Polarity Senior Member

aaaahhh ...

Its an outboard ! (N.S sherlock!)

Sorry, I got the wrong end of the stick and for some reason assumed you meant engine as in inboard..