1964 18hp evinrude fast twin

Discussion in 'Outboards' started by valvebounce, Mar 20, 2012.

1. valvebounce

valvebounce Senior Member

I have recently aquired the above outboard,serial number-18402D C414804
    I believe it to be 1964 model which should run on 50/1 petrol mix.
    The slow start nylon splined cam connector has come adrift,is there a way to re-calibrate the connector onto the splined needle.
    The engine starts after a lot of pulls,but only ticks over for a few seconds,then stops.There is a spark at the plugs,and the compression seems ok.
    Is it possible to screw the needle in too far,or does it simply revolve in situ?
    I have only used the fuel that came with the tank when I aquired the engine,do you think this could be part of the problem?
    I am new to starting outboards,and have only followed the instuctions on the engine cover.
    Any help will be gladly appreciated

2. johneck

johneck Senior Member

Gas does have a shelf life, so old gas should be discarded and new gas put into it.

I believe that the "slow start needle" you are describing is the idle speed adjuster, which is a carb needle adjustment. This should seat if turned in all the way, be careful not to turn too hard to avoid breaking it. The normal setting would be out 1 turn from the seated position.

If the motor has been sitting for awhile, the carb may need to be cleaned or overhauled.

1 person likes this.
  3. valvebounce

Thanks for your reply,I suspected the gas might be old,and probably has evaporated and left a thicker oil mix.
    The needle control knob is on the starting instructions facia,it says "slow start,and has no's 1-3 and 5 on it.The twistgrip on the tiller has a "start"position,and apparently the engine is set not to start if in gear.I will try screwing it in clockwise until it stops,then turning it back a complete revolution anti-clockwise as you suggest.[fingers crossed]
    Thanks again
    Best regards

4. FAST FRED

FAST FRED Senior Member