1968 Johnson 40 HP no spark

Discussion in 'Outboards' started by turbowrenchhead, Sep 20, 2015.

1. turbowrenchhead

turbowrenchhead New Member

Good morning and hello. I'm a new member as of today. Thursday I picked up a 15' Fiberglass starcraft and a 1968 Johnson. The seller stated that the motor did not start and it probably needed a starter and or a solenoid. I am a mechanic so I checked out the motor to make sure it wasn't a dud. You can never trust what ppl tell you, that I have learned the hard way. So I brought some tools and a compression gauge. The compression was at 105psi on both. So that was a little low but live-able. Next I checked for spark and it had it. I shot a bit of starting fluid into the carb and it started for a couple seconds. So I bought it. I took it home and pulled the starter and solenoid and took it to a rebuild shop. They said nothing was wrong with the starter so they put it back together and sold me a solenoid and charged me $25. I put the starter and solenoid back on and now had a freshly charged battery. I cranked over the engine and I had no spark. I started looking it over and I came across a wire that was disconnected and I didn't remember disconnecting it from anything. After many hours of reading and downloading a manual I now know that it was the wire coming off the side of the cut out switch and is suppose to supply the ground to the starter solenoid. Before I knew what was what. I tried connecting it to ground and then to power and I still had no spark. No combination worked, still no spark.